I am in love with the Cedar Leaf Shawlette pattern by Alana Dakos of Never Not Knitting.

I made it as a surprise for my Mum’s Birthday in the original Hand Maiden Lady Godiva yarn that Alana designed the pattern in. The Cedar colourway is gorgeous and the yarn extrememly soft. It is simply knit, using Stockinette stitch and short rows. The leaves are added on at the end.

 

The only problem I had is that the yarn started to wear during knitting. Maybe I handle my fabric a little too much due to the way I knit, but it was a shame to see the stockinette stitch body of the shawl had a  ‘fuzz’ to it while the freshly-knit leaves were crisp, smooth and silky at the edge.

Despite my misgivings with the yarn, it is being currently worn and enjoyed by its new owner. I’ll be knitting this pattern again, perhaps using the new Malabrigo Silk (a little less pricey) or even Knitpicks Gloss DK (even more value) to see if I can eliminate the fuzz problem.

 

 

 

 

